On Contentment

Philippians 4:11b-12 – “I have learned to be content in whatever circumstances I am. I know how to get along with humble means, and I also know how to live in prosperity; in any and every circumstance I have learned the secret of being filled and going hungry, both of having abundance and suffering need.”

I hate holidays.

It’s an old issue with roots so tangled that there is no real point in trying to understand it anymore.  I love the twinkle lights, carols, and communion at Christmas.  I get up early to sing praises at sunrise on Easter.  I love the holiday seasons, but the idea of holidays themselves – tradition and obligation and parties – is really unpleasant for me.  Again, that’s something that most people don’t know about me, and I’m certainly not proud of my aversion; nevertheless, it exists and it’s something with which I have to deal multiple times throughout the year.  So….

Today is Mother’s Day.

This is my fourth Mother’s Day in five years of marriage, in fact.  (We weren’t even supposed to be able to have children, but that’s another blog post.) Mother’s Day 2007 – I suffered from severe post-partum depression.  Mother’s Day 2008 – Apparently not that memorable, because I can’t remember it.  Mother’s Day 2009 – SEVERE morning sickness and warnings of bedrest.  Mother’s Day 2010 – Different.

This Mother’s Day is different because I’m not reaching outside of my circumstances for something that society, family, and Hallmark think should be there.  I am not disappointed by lack of phone calls or greeting cards, nor am I scrubbing butter out of my sheets after an attempted breakfast in bed.  I am not reflecting on how much a slap in the face Mother’s Day is to a mother who feels she’s a failure (suddenly remembered why I forgot 2008).  Instead, I’m appreciating any sentiments thrown my way, and I’m loving my children and doing the same things I do any other day of the year.  Because that is enough.

The Oxford English Dictionary observes that being content means “[h]aving one’s desires bounded by what one has; not disturbed by the desire of anything more, or of anything different.”  In the Greek, the term Paul uses in Philippians 4 for content is αὐτάρκης, which is derived from the two words meaning “self” and “complacent”; the word used for complacent refers to raising a barrier, and more appropriately translates “sufficient.”  I love the image that is presented in this one word. It paints the picture of a woman who sees what is within her circle, loves it for what it is, and knows that it is all she needs.  The term “self-sufficient” might be a little misleading, though, so Paul makes sure to tell us the secret to contentment – the thing which maintains his contentment throughout every situation of life.  Philippians 4:13 states, “I can do all things through Him who strengthens me.”  Our struggle to remain content seems much easier when we realize that within our walls, within our circle of influence, resides the One Who controls all gold and silver, Who commands children to honor their parents and parents to love their children, and Whose grace is sufficient for all our needs (2 Cor. 12:9).

This year, I’m treating Mother’s Day as a more pronounced opportunity to demonstrate my gratitude for being made a mother.  I’m relaxing, enjoying whatever quiet time I’m given, and laughingly doing my duty the rest of the time.  This year, I’m content, for I can do all things through Christ Who strengthens me.

Happy Mother’s Day, 2010.

 

 

 

 

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Kelly on May 9, 2010 at 8:09 pm

    Happy Mothers Day to you, fellow supermom. Thanks for the reminder to be content. I am reminded of my favorite quote – “I am content to be and have what in Thy heart I am meant to be and have.” ~ George MacDonald.

    Reply

Leave a comment