On Orderliness

I Corinthians 14:33a – “For God is not a God of confusion but of peace.”

My students hate outlining.

As most of you know, I teach English to college students.  I mold young minds, and, most importantly, young papers into objects of  academia, mature and beautiful.  Alright, now that my fellow teachers have stopped laughing, let me remind them that this is our ultimate goal – to be examples of Christ and to push our students towards being more mature versions of themselves and to enable them to better express that maturity.  As part of this process of maturing, I ask my students to construct an outline of the papers they mean to write.  Now, each one follows a process unique to the writer, so I pretty flexible on exactly what that outline will look like.  Some stream-of-consciousness writers construct something almost like an image – a “connect-the-dots” of topics and points.  The structuralists prefer a deliberate construct of Roman numerals, numbers and letters, each set as specific indentations on their papers.  And then there are the others….

I always have one student who says, “I don’t need to outline.  I know what I am trying to say, and once I start writing the words will just flow onto the paper.”  I’ve heard this from undergraduate and graduate students alike.  Even some of my colleagues have admitted to me their disgust for outlines.  Now, I could very easily rabbit-trail here into a description of the various forms of outlining, and I could point out that many so-called anti-outliners actually do construct them without being conscious of it, but instead I’ll just say that outlining – more often than not – strengthens papers.  When a student comes to me saying, “There’s nothing left for me to write on this topic and I’m 7 pages short,” I say, “Let me see your outline.”  Generally, they don’t have one.  Without outlining, students tend to leave topics underdeveloped and/or out of logical order.  As a result, their papers may be short, shallow, and illogical. 

I realize that I’m generalizing here, but several years of teaching experience have taught me the value of process.  One of the most significant lessons that I can teach my students is that how we do something is just as important as the end result (if not more so). I Corinthians 14:40 commands, “[A]ll things must be done properly and in an orderly manner” (NASB).  Adam Clarke’s commentary on this verse clarifies,

Let all things be done decently and in order is a direction of infinite moment in all the concerns of religion, and of no small consequence in all the concerns of life…. Where decency and order are not observed in every part of the worship of God, no spiritual worship can be performed. The manner of doing a thing is always of as much consequence as the act itself. And often the act derives all its consequence and utility from the manner in which it is performed.

Processes are emphasized over and over again in Scripture.  Repentance, praise, worship, sanctification – these are ongoing, continuous acts.  Suggestions and regulations addressing how they are to be carried out are given throughout the Bible.  How something is being done is just as important as what is being done.  Jesus could have appeared as  the son of a human man and woman (and thus have been merely human); He could have manifested Himself as Spirit (and thus have been God, without the experience of human existence).  Instead, Jesus was completely God and completely human – a Divine paradox made possible by virgin birth and the only possible solution to the quandry that is a simultaneously Just and Merciful God.  How He came was vital.  How we act is vital. 

So, to brothers and sisters who speed on the 91 freeway at night because no one can see them, or who curse in rush hour traffic, or who use Facebook while at work – please know that I sympathize with you.  The urge for release when no one is watching is immense.  But sometimes that release develops into a habit, and habits transform our lives.  Some of these can be good changes.  We might develop a habit for praying during traffic.  We might develop a habit of smiling at the receptionist at work.  We might develop a habit for ordering the same raspberry hot chocolate twice a week (much love to Candace and Zippy in Wanda’s cafe for knowing my order before I give it). 

Frequently, though, the habits we develop are negative ones that we allow to grow because we simply assume that they go unobserved or that they “don’t matter.”  This is a fallacy.  It all matters.  Don’t let the habits that develop unseen dictate your “process” of life.  Let your “how” be as beautiful to the Lord as your “what.”  Don’t be someone who goes to midweek Bible study because “that’s what you do” or because others expect it of you.  Be the person who spends time in the car on the way to study turning off the music and starting to shut out the distractions, preparing to learn and to grow.  Don’t be the man or woman walking to work on a campus which emphasizes recycling who leaves the plastic bottle in the parking lot for “the maintenance crew to pick up.”  Be the person telling your students to recycle and bringing their graded papers to class in a reusable grocery bag.  Don’t be the Christian who says “Thank you” on Sunday and then spends the other six days of the week complaining.  Be a process-oriented person.  Scrutinize your words and your actions.  When our end result (Heaven) is being reflected in how we live, there is peace.  There is order.  When process and end result are dissimilar, there is confusion, discomfort, even pain.

So smile during rush hour.

Leave a comment