26 Weeks and 4 Days

Well, we were hoping that at my 26 week appointment (yesterday morning) there would be no change from the previous week.  Definitely wrong.  My cervix has officially shortened from 1.3 cm to .8.  It’s still technically there (hooray, you pathetic thing) and it’s still technically closed, which means my chance of developing an infection is still low.  We were at about this point with James at 22 weeks, but I wasn’t on bedrest or anything and I was told that my risk of early delivery was still low (yeah, right).  There is no doubt now that the diagnosis of incompetent cervix was correct.  We thought, because of my contractions from 16 weeks on, that it might be JUST preterm labor and that limiting contractions would limit changes, but that’s not the case.  The shortening to my cervix just continues to get worse as the baby gets heavier.  Gravity is not my friend as she grows, so bedrest will help for as long as God allows, but ultimately my cervix just won’t hold up under her weight no matter what I do or do not do.  This one is definitely coming early, but the Lord has still put off delivery so far and we are trusting him to continue to do so until the right time for her to come.  Matt and I still don’t regret avoiding the cerclage (surgery to stitch the cervix together); we prayed long and hard before making that decision, and the risks were just too great for me and for her.  The Lord provides and every week is a gift from Him.  Please pray for 30+.  That’s my goal and my prayer.  We know that we’ll be doing the NICU routine again, and Matt and I feel blessed that God has given us this testimony with our kids.  We’ll endure and flourish, but the shorter her hospital stay the happier Mommy here will be.  The doctors have been wonderful, my RN case manager is a prayer warrior, and we just found out that a friend’s cousin works in that NICU and is all ready for our girlie’s arrival.  The Lord continues to provide and comfort and redefine my definition of NEED, so praise Him.  If we deliver this week, I am still confident that this entire process has been in His hands and will be used for His glory.

Jamie’s verse and the one I’m giving Lia for today: James 1:17 – “Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows” (NIV).

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Melissa on October 14, 2009 at 9:45 pm

    This news makes me happy :).

    Reply

  2. Amen : )

    Reply

  3. We are praying for you and the baby. I have more clothes for James and Lia, I’m just trying to figure out how to get them to you. Let me know if there is anything that you need.

    Reply

Leave a comment